Ten O'clock Line Trail

Ten O'clock Line Trail

The Ten O’clock Line trail stems from the Treaty of Fort Wayne, but it is known as the Ten O’clock Line Treaty and was signed on September 30, 1809. This treaty opened up three million acres of American Indian land and established the state of Indiana’s northern boundary. It’s called the Ten O’clock Line because the boundary line was determined by the shadow cast at 10:00 on September 30. The line runs from Raccoon Creek on the Wabash River near Montezuma to a point near Seymour, Indiana.

The Ten O’clock Line Trail is a cross-country trail generally extending in an east to west direction between the fire tower on Weed Patch Hill in Brown County State Park and Yellowwood Lake in Yellowwood State Forest. It is a 16 mile trail and does require some road walking and crosses through some private land. The trail starts behind the rest rooms on Weed Patch Hill just to the right of the fire tower and ends in a parking lot at the north end of Yellowwood Lake.

The average hiker requires seven to eight hours (or more) to hike the trail. Camping along the trail is not permitted. The trail is marked with white rectangular blazes, orange triangles, and signs along the way. The trail is fairly rugged and crosses ridges and valleys following stage coach roads, Indian trails and historic forest highways that were used more than 150 years ago.

Hiking and Running

Brown County Indiana: Escape Comes Naturally